It is Summer, and every single Summer I get the same question: Does alcohol have gluten in it?

I laugh at this question, because I am not even allowed to drink alcoholic beverages at this point even if I wanted to; per doctors’ orders. When you have a rare genetic heart condition you listen to docs and stay clear of the things that can trigger more issues. But, that being said… I am not a prude either (I’m sure you know that by now!), so in true Mandi-style, I am providing the answer for you and a few more tips too. Also, I have included a nice, sweet little recipe to include in your summer adventures. But, remember always drink responsibly. Don’t get coo coo, ya hear?!

What is Gluten?

First thing’s first… What is Gluten?

Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (wheatberries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, KAMUT® Khorasan wheat, and einkorn), rye, barley, and triticale – a cross between wheat and rye. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of foods and drinks, even ones that would not be expected like alcohol. 

Gluten can cause illness in people with celiac disease and tummy aches amongst other things in people with gluten sensitivities, like myself and my family. My family and I started going gluten-free when my son broke out in eczema. Once we stopped consuming anything with gluten in it, I realized my own problems and seeing a lot of my sensitivities were starting to diminish. Since then, we have been a gluten-free family and we haven’t looked back. 

Check out some of my favorite Gluten Free Recipes!

Gluten-Free Alcohol

Did you know gluten can be found in alcohol? Well, it can! Crazy, huh?!

Below is a list of tips you can keep handy for your cocktails:

  • Avoid beer unless it is specifically brewed to be gluten-free alcohol
  • Rum, tequila, and potato vodka are gluten-free alcohols
  • Whiskey and bourbon are not universally accepted as gluten-free alcohol, so proceed with caution
  • Wine is typically gluten-free alcohol and is safe to drink, but some can have additives you need to be aware of, so proceed with caution
  • Most ciders are gluten-free alcohol and are a great option 
  • Always drink responsibly – gluten-free or not, you don’t get crazy! 

Skinny Margarita Recipe

I love making this recipe by Cookie and Kate for my friends! It actually reminds me of a few of the margaritas at my favorite tequila bar in Disney WorldLa Cava del Tequila. They are made with fresh ingredients, they are gluten-free, and they have less sugar! Go check out this amazing recipe, invite the girls over, and start reminiscing about the days you actually could stay up past ten pm… because you know it is impossible now, you light-weight! 

This skinny margarita recipe is made with fresh ingredients, has gluten-free alcohol, and has less sugar! Enjoy and relax with this gluten-free, skinny margarita. #AmandaMiddleton #skinnymargarita #glutenfree #drinkresponsibly

Always remember, drink responsibly!

Gluten Free Alcohol And A Skinny Margarita Recipe

Looking for some Healthy Starbucks Drinks you can try on your next Starbucks trip? Check these out, you won’t be sorry! 

Don’t forget to sign up for the weekly meal plan with recipes from our favorite bloggers. It is sent out every Friday. 


Copyright: alpaksoy / 123RF Stock Photo